Ruggiero is the fourth woman to be inducted into the prestigious ranks

(Athletic Communications).

Former Harvard hockey great Angela Ruggiero ’04 will be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame on Monday, Nov. 9, 2019 in Toronto. The player class of 2015 also includes Sergei Federov, Phil Housley, Nicklas Lidstrom and Chris Pronger. The official ceremony will be broadcast live on the NHL Network and TSN4.

The 2004 Patty Kazmaier award winner, Ruggiero ranks fifth in Harvard women’s hockey history with 96 goals, and third with 157 assists during her playing career from 1998-2000 and 2002-04. Ruggiero is one of six Crimson skaters to eclipse the 250-point barrier, and she played a key role in helping Harvard win the 1999 AWCHA national championship.

Ruggiero was a four-time first team All-America selection at Harvard, and the blue liner’s accolade-filled collegiate career was bookended by four Olympic medals (one gold, two silver, one bronze) and a professional career that included stops in Montreal, Minneapolis and Boston. She is the all-time leader in games played for Team USA (256), tallying 208 career points for the red, white and blue (67 goals, 141 assists).

Ruggiero will also be inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame on Thursday, Dec. 17 in Boston.